joy-sen-gs-sanyal-awardJoy Sen wins the prestigious IITKGP Foundation G S Sanyal Award for Faculty Excellence

Information provided by IIT-Kharagpur and IITKGP Foundation (August 20, 2021)

Prof. Joy Sen, from the Department of Architecture and Regional Planning is the recipient of the G S Sanyal Faculty Excellence Award 2021!

Dr. Joy Sen served as the Former Head of the Department of Architecture and Regional Planning from June 2017-July 2020. Prior to that, he was the Head of the Ranbir and Chitra Gupta School of Infrastructure Design and Management (RCGSIDM), IIT Kharagpur (August 2014-June 2017).

Additionally, he is the Chairperson of the Centre of Excellence for Indian Knowledge Systems, Chairman of the Nehru Museum of Science & Technology, Co-Professor-in-Charge of the Academy of Classical and Folk Arts (ACFA), and a Program Officer (Fine Arts) of the National Cultural Apprecation (NCA) courses.



The G S Sanyal Faculty Excellence Award (GSSFEA), instituted by the IITKGP Foundation USA, is awarded each year to a faculty member of the institute, based on his/her contributions to the students of IIT-KGP through student related activities, technology, innovation and/or entrepreneurship. The purpose of the Award is to recognize a faculty member for going out of the way to help students in academic, social or other matters representing the best of legendary Prof. G S Sanyal. This is the second year the award has been bestowed. Last year's recipient was Prof. Shailendra Kumar (SK) Varshney from the Department of Electronics and Electrical Communication Engineering.

Taken from a comment by Prof. Sen on an announcement of the award on Facebook, "My deep gratitude and loyalty to my Alma Mater, IIT Kharagpur and Department of Architecture & Regional Planning-IIT Kharagpur! They have given me a 100 times more in return to my little services! I am blessed!" Congratulations to Professor Joy Sen on his selection for this award!