January 6, 2023


IIT Kharagpur Announces Awards Funded by Donations to the IITKGP Foundation (USA)

IITKGP Foundation 

Prof Om Prakash Sha has been selected for the G S Sanyal Faculty Excellence Award 2022. The G S Sanyal Faculty Excellence Award (GSSFEA), instituted by the IIT Kharagpur Alumni Foundation (USA), is awarded each year to a faculty member of the institute, based on his/her contributions to the students through student related activities, such as social and cultural activities, technology, innovation and/or entrepreneurship. The purpose of the Award is to recognize a faculty member for going out of the way to help students in academic, social or other matters representing the best of legendary Prof. G. S. Sanyal.

The inaugural Markose Thomas Memorial award for best research paper for CSE 2021 was given to IIT Kharagpur CSE Student Aniket Roy and Prof. Rajat Subra Chakraborty (Associate Professor, CSE Dept, IIT Kharagpur) for their research paper "Towards Optimal Prediction Error Expansion based reversible image watermarking" published in the IEEE Trans. Circuits Syst. Video Technol. 30(8): 2377-2390 (2020). This award was established by Dr. Daibashish Gangopadhyay and the Thomas family in honor of Markose Thomas (2006/CSE/BTech +  Tech) and is given for the best research paper from the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at IIT Kharagpur.

Read more