Campus staff at IIT-KGP need your help! $252,000 raised, we need $748,000 more, please donate!






We have raised $252,000 but we still need $748,000 and your help to reach our goal!        










All of you remember the so called Non commissioned essentials (Army term) who made our life possible at Kgp. The mess workers, the ward boys, the rickshaw wallahs, etc. Since most of them were migrant workers, with the present lockdown they have no where to go and do not receive government benefits. We at the Foundation, listening to the request from the IIT Director, have decided to try and help them overcome this problem. This money will give each family Rs 1000 per month for food and Rs 200 per month for soap, etc. As you can see this is a very small amount but it will give them some major relief. The present amount assumes we need to support them for the next 6 months. Please do open your hearts and help in this. 


Stay safe and stay healthy,

Arjun Malhotra





IITKGP Staff needs your help.

IITKGP now has over 10,000 students. Besides the teaching staff and administrative staff who are on salary, IITKGP is supported by more than 10,000 other staff who get no salary or receive little benefits during the Corona Virus lockdown.

These are the people who have served us for generations such as mess workers, ward boys, gardeners, rickshaw pullers, vegetable sellers, dhobis, and a whole bunch of other staff who have little protection.

With the lockdown, these people are without an income now. We are raising $1 million to support the staff and villagers nearby for the next six months.

Our trustees have already committed over $100,000. We need your help to donate generously to this worthy cause. These people need help and they need it now. We, the IITKGP Foundation, will be sending the money to IIT KGP every week. They have formed a committee of esteemed professors to help these people in need.


Thank you to our donors that have already generously donated to this fund!


1959-Puran Dang

1961-Brij Kar, Anonymous Donor

1962-Sohan Singh Bahl

1965-R N Mukhija

1966-Abraham Thomas

1967-Vinod Gupta, Probal Sanyal, Ram Khurana, Anonymous Donor

1968-Anonymous Donor

1969-Krishen Mehta, Daljeet Singh, Narendra Doshi, Partha Vohra, Sujan Ghosh

1970-Ranbir (Ron) Gupta, Arjun Malhotra, Jayashree Saha, Samaresh Mohanta, Venkataraman Sundaram, Surender Makhija, Anil Luthra, Nansen D'Sa, Indrajit Chatterjee, Ullas Kamath, Shantanu Maitra, Ramamurthy Ati, Deepak Chatterjee, Rahul Mehra, Tilak Sen, Amit Roy, Anonymous Donor (4)

1971-Surajit Dasgupta

1972-Biswapriya Sanyal, Ram Sriram

1973-Harjinder Singh, Alok Chatterjee, Anonymous Donor

1974-Sanjay Deshmukh, Praful Kulkarni

1976-Subhashis Mallick, Omprakash Madria

1977-Soumitra Bhattacharya, Anonymous Donor

1978-Yusuf Officewala, Anonymous Donor

1979-Rakesh Asthana, Suresh Nair

1981-Deepak Khazanchi, Prabhas Panigrahi

1982-Prasanta Dutt

1983-Aloke Das

1984-Babu Turumella, Sujit Sengupta, Venkateswara Sanivarapu

1985-Pramod Bengani, Saikat Nandi, Shyama Mandal, Swapan Majumdar, Sarbajit Ghosal

1986-Rakesh Gupta, Leslie Picardo, Raikanta Sahu, Somnath Banik

1987-Diganta Das, Partha Chatterjee

1988-Anol Bhattacharjee, Narayanan Krishnamurthy

1989-Indranil Sanyal, Ashis Roy, Sandeep Pattanayak, Rana Gupta

1990-Diptarka Majumdar, Supratik Bose, Santanu Biswas, Raju Datla, Sudhir Raju, Srinivas Vadde, Amber Roy Chowdhury, Indrajit Ray, Shailendra Verma

1991-Krishnaraj Venkataraman

1992-Anonymous Donor

1993-Pankaj Mathur, Anonymous Donor (2)

1994-Rajesh Gupta, Raja Shankar, Gautam Vaidya, Anonymous Donor

1995-Prabhu Chandrasekhar, Satya D., Munshi Alam

1996-Kaushik Bakhandi

1997-Amit Kumar, Mimin Adhikary, Laxmidhar Biswal, Mimin Adhikary, Anonymous Donor

1998-Praveen Jha, Lokesh Gakhar, Ronojoy Ghosh, Amit Mondal, Arindam Guha, Anonymous Donor

1999-Samrat Saha, Dipankar Ghosh, Padam Singh, Anonymous Donor

2000-Himanshu Kher, Pankaj Trivedi, Sumit Agarwal, Anonymous Donor

2001-Parag Jain, Santosh Banerjee, Anonymous Donor

2002-Krishna Mogallapu, Ajay Gulati, Varij Saurabh, Abhishek Bose, Anonymous Donor (2)

2003-Rajarshi Paul, Anonymous Donor

2004-Abhishek Prakash, Rituraj Nandan

2005-Suvro Sarkar

2006-Vikas Chandan

2008-Neel Lohit, Anonymous Donor

2009-Nirav Amlani, Lokesh Anand

2010-Laxmidhar Biswal, Akanksha Sinha, Kshitij Khurana, Anonymous Donor

2015-Harshyt Goel, Dinesh Goundla

2017-Atal Agarwal

N/A-IITKGP Foundation


Committee for IITKGP Alumni COVID-19 Fund



Cost Estimate of Support by the IITKGP Alumni for COVID-19


We need your help urgently!

Donate via the below buttons! You can donate in US $ or Canadian, Australian, or Singapore $. Donations made in the US may be tax-deductible.




The IITKGP Foundation is a not for profit organization with a 501(c)(3) status in the United States (Federal ID: 47-0747227).

If making a donation in INR, click the below link for details.

Donations in INR

(For tracking and recording purposes, if making an INR donation, please send an email with your name, date of donation, and donation amount to info@iitkgpfoundation.org.)

If unable to view this email, click here to access it on our website.


The IITKGP Foundation respects your privacy!
To make sure these communications are not mistakenly blocked in the future by your spam-blocker, please add 'email_watch@omnimagnet.net' and 'webmaster@iitkgpfoundation.org' to your approved-senders-list. If you no longer wish to receive correspondence of this kind from the IITKGP Foundation please follow this unsubscribe link: http://www.iitkgpfoundation.org/unsubscribe.html?email=[email]. You will be removed from receiving any further e-mails at that point. Please allow up to 72 hours to process.