$263K raised, $737K to go. It's time to payback the KGP poor community. They will thank you forever.






We have raised $263,000 but we still need $737,000 and your help to reach our goal!        

Below is a photo of the latest distribution of rations, also make sure to check out the latest video below the photo!





Dear Alumni, 

As you are aware, IIT-KGP is closed to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus for the next 6 months resulting in 6,435 daily wage workers such as hall workers, construction workers, and other contract employees being laid off without any separation pay or benefits, leading to their families being adversely affected. In addition, 4,000 villagers who live in close proximity of IIT-KGP have suffered a loss of daily wages for a total count of 10,500 directly affected. 

Director Tewari has called upon the IITKGP Foundation to raise approximately $1.0 M to fund a relief package designed to benefit 10,500 persons for 6 months. In addition, he has put together a team of faculty to oversee various aspects implementing the same. The proposed package will provide basic amenities like rice, dal, etc. and includes face masks, gloves, etc. to protect against the virus. A PDF (link found below) gives details of the basic relief package which works out to approximately $20/person-family/month for 6 months. 

More than $260,000 has been raised so far by some compassionate and generous alumni; however, we need another $740,000 to be raised. IITKGP Foundation requests you to 'adopt' as many individuals/families that you can at just $20/individual-family. 


Adopt 1 mess worker + 1 dhobi: $40/month;

Adopt 1 mess worker + 1 dhobi + 1 gardener: $60/month; 

Adopt 1 mess worker + 1 dhobi + 1 gardener + 1 construction worker: $80/month. 

Adopt 1 worker-family: $100/month; Adopt 2 worker-families: $200/month; Adopt 5 worker-families: $500/month; Adopt 10 families: $1,000/month


There are about 10,500 employees/workers and their family members that NEED HELP NOW, so please donate to the IITKGP Foundation, and make your tax-free contribution by using the below donation button. 


Roy DaSilva       Asoke Deysarkar

1974/EE/RK       1971/CH/VS  




Committee for IITKGP Alumni COVID-19 Fund

Cost Estimate of Support by the IITKGP Alumni for COVID-19





Thank you to our donors that have already generously donated to this fund!


1958-Sudarshan Gupta

1959-Puran Dang

1961-Brij Kar, Anonymous Donor

1962-Sohan Singh Bahl

1964-Vijay Narang

1965-R N Mukhija

1966-Abraham Thomas

1967-Vinod Gupta, Probal Sanyal, Ram Khurana, Pradeep Vaish, Anonymous Donor

1968-Santanu Basu, Anonymous Donor

1969-Krishen Mehta, Daljeet Singh, Narendra Doshi, Partha Vohra, Sujan Ghosh, Arun Kochhar, Prabjit Singh, Tarunes Chakrabarti, Nitin Parekh

1970-Ranbir (Ron) Gupta, Arjun Malhotra, Jayashree Saha, Samaresh Mohanta, Venkataraman Sundaram, Surender Makhija, Anil Luthra, Nansen D'Sa, Indrajit Chatterjee, Ullas Kamath, Shantanu Maitra, Ramamurthy Ati, Deepak Chatterjee, Rahul Mehra, Tilak Sen, Amit Roy, Somen Chowdhury, Dinesh Bhatia, Nibir Datta, Kothanda (Chinu) Srinivasan, D.P. Naganand, Narayanan (Chinu) Sreenivasan, Ajit Gupta, Anonymous Donor (5)

1971-Surajit Dasgupta, Asoke Deysarkar

1972-Biswapriya Sanyal, Ram Sriram, Sukhbir Singh, Gulabbhai C Mistry

1973-Harjinder Singh, Alok Chatterjee, Anonymous Donor

1974-Sanjay Deshmukh, Praful Kulkarni, Anonymous Donor

1976-Subhashis Mallick, Omprakash Madria, Amitava Dutta, Sarma Pisapati

1977-Soumitra Bhattacharya, C.V. Chakravarthy, Anonymous Donor

1978-Yusuf Officewala, Anonymous Donor

1979-Rakesh Asthana, Suresh Nair

1981-Deepak Khazanchi, Prabhas Panigrahi, Bidyut Parruck

1982-Prasanta Dutt

1983-Aloke Das

1984-Babu Turumella, Sujit Sengupta, Venkateswara Sanivarapu, Sky Basu

1985-Pramod Bengani, Saikat Nandi, Shyama Mandal, Swapan Majumdar, Sarbajit Ghosal

1986-Rakesh Gupta, Leslie Picardo, Raikanta Sahu, Somnath Banik

1987-Diganta Das, Partha Chatterjee

1988-Anol Bhattacharjee, Narayanan Krishnamurthy, Sanjay Sharma

1989-Indranil Sanyal, Ashis Roy, Sandeep Pattanayak, Rana Gupta

1990-Diptarka Majumdar, Supratik Bose, Santanu Biswas, Raju Datla, Sudhir Raju, Srinivas Vadde, Amber Roy Chowdhury, Indrajit Ray, Shailendra Verma

1991-Krishnaraj Venkataraman

1992-Anonymous Donor

1993-Pankaj Mathur, Shekhar Mukherjee, Anonymous Donor (2)

1994-Rajesh Gupta, Raja Shankar, Gautam Vaidya, Anonymous Donor

1995-Prabhu Chandrasekhar, Satya D., Munshi Alam

1996-Kaushik Bakhandi, Nilanjan Ganguly

1997-Amit Kumar, Mimin Adhikary, Laxmidhar Biswal, Mimin Adhikary, Anonymous Donor

1998-Praveen Jha, Lokesh Gakhar, Ronojoy Ghosh, Amit Mondal, Arindam Guha, Akhil Singh, Anonymous Donor

1999-Samrat Saha, Dipankar Ghosh, Padam Singh, Hari Mony, Anonymous Donor

2000-Himanshu Kher, Pankaj Trivedi, Sumit Agarwal, Dhananjay Kumar, Anonymous Donor

2001-Parag Jain, Santosh Banerjee, Anonymous Donor

2002-Krishna Mogallapu, Ajay Gulati, Varij Saurabh, Abhishek Bose, Sourav Kar, Anonymous Donor (2)

2003-Rajarshi Paul, Mukesh Kumar, Anonymous Donor

2004-Abhishek Prakash, Rituraj Nandan

2005-Suvro Sarkar

2006-Vikas Chandan

2007-Anonymous Donor

2008-Neel Lohit, Anonymous Donor

2009-Nirav Amlani, Lokesh Anand, Rajiv Kamal

2010-Laxmidhar Biswal, Akanksha Sinha, Kshitij Khurana, Anonymous Donor

2015-Harshyt Goel, Dinesh Goundla

2017-Atal Agarwal

Unknown Batch-Rakesh Vasant, Anonymous Donor

N/A-IITKGP Foundation



We need your help urgently!

Donate via the below buttons! You can donate in US $ or Canadian, Australian, or Singapore $. Donations made in the US may be tax-deductible.




The IITKGP Foundation is a not for profit organization with a 501(c)(3) status in the United States (Federal ID: 47-0747227).

If making a donation in INR, click the below link for details.

Donations in INR

(For tracking and recording purposes, if making an INR donation, please send an email with your name, date of donation, and donation amount to info@iitkgpfoundation.org.)

If unable to view this email, click here to access it on our website.


The IITKGP Foundation respects your privacy!
To make sure these communications are not mistakenly blocked in the future by your spam-blocker, please add 'email_watch@omnimagnet.net' and 'webmaster@iitkgpfoundation.org' to your approved-senders-list. If you no longer wish to receive correspondence of this kind from the IITKGP Foundation please follow this unsubscribe link: http://www.iitkgpfoundation.org/unsubscribe.html?email=[email]. You will be removed from receiving any further e-mails at that point. Please allow up to 72 hours to process.